Day 1 FE

Where: Dearborn Park International Elementary School

Master Librarian: Craig Seasholes

IMG_1269   IMG_1270

I arrived at Dearborn about 8:15. I immediately asked Mr. Seasholes if there was anything I could do. We had a brief morning chat and then hit the road running. Our first set of students came to the library for library time. Mr. Seasholes day is split between library visits and technology visits which take place in the library. After reading to a bilingual Spanish class All are Welcome Here – by Alexandra Penfold. We helped the students find and check out books. I jumped right in and was able to help with checking out etc. This made some of my prior fears fade as I thought I would be more of a burden than help on the first day. After that class, we had a technology class. Kinks are still being worked out on the laptops and some students were able to sign in with their usernames and others weren’t. We directed them to Word and the draw feature. Since the laptops at the school have a touch screen it was cool to see what the kids created. One little boy made a video of his drawing while it was being created. Right before lunch, we had a Special Education class come for tech. Our initial plan was to use OSMO with them, however, we found that the iPads had been wiped clean. I jumped at the task of trying to download the apps while Mr. Seasholes tried to come up with an alternative. After I was finished I showed one of the students the MERGE CUBE, which is an AR/VR cube. I put on the Space app. When you look through the phone it looks like you are holding the solar system. She really enjoyed this and then gave me feedback in the end and said; “Kids would love this.” She was super sweet. Toward the end of the day, we did another technology class with 2nd grade, we told them to draw Dot’s for Dot Day. Here is an example one of the student’s creation.

IMG_4533

I am looking forward to more time at Dearborn Park.

One thought on “Day 1 FE

  1. Jennifer,

    It sounds like a typical day at Craig’s school. He is indeed an amazing librarian and I am so glad you are able to spend time there. He makes everyone feel comfortable right from the start and I can see this is going to be a good fit. I’m glad you felt comfortable jumping right in and redownloading the apps. Is there a new one-to-one rollout happening at Dearborn Park?

    Like

Leave a comment